Call for Nominations | HBA Book Awards

The Historians of British Art annually awards prizes to outstanding books on the history of British art, architecture, and visual culture. We are pleased to announce that we will consider books in four categories: Pre-1800, 1600–1800, Post-1800, and multi-authored volume. The committee is currently welcoming nominations for this year’s prize. A list of previous winners can be found here. This year we will be considering books published in 2017.

The committee accepts nominations and self-nominations, although these should include publisher contact details. There is no limit on the number of books from a single publisher that may be considered in each category. Winners will be announced in January 2019, well in advance of the annual meeting of the College Art Association in February, so that publishers can market prize-winners there. The deadline for nominations is 1 October 2018. Feel free to contact Morna O’Neill, the committee chair, with any questions,

Publishers should notify the chair of their nominations and send a copy of each nominated book to our four committee members:

Morna O’Neill, Chair
2224 Westover Drive
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, NC 27103

Matthew Reeve
Department of Art History and Art Conservation
Ontario Hall
Queen’s University
Kingston, ON

Stacey Sloboda
Art Department
UMass Boston
100 Morrissey Boulevard
Boston, MA 02125

Eric Stryker
14 Holly Place
Edison, NJ 08817

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close