HBA Book Awards

The Historians of British Art annually awards prizes to outstanding books on the history of British art, architecture, and visual culture. We are pleased to announce that we will consider books in five categories: Pre-1600, 1600–1800, 1800-1960, contemporary, and multi-authored volume.

The 2021 Book Award winners can be found here. Previous winners can be found in the drop-down menu above.

In 2022, we will be considering books published in 2020. The committee accepts nominations and self-nominations, although these should include publisher contact details. There is no limit on the number of books from a single publisher that may be considered in each category. Winners will be announced in January 2022, in advance of the annual meeting of the College Art Association in February, so that publishers can market prize-winners there. Feel free to contact Alison Syme, the committee chair, with any questions: alison.syme@utoronto.ca.

Publishers should notify the chair of their nominations and send a copy of each nominated book to our four committee members:

Alison Syme, Committee Chair
Associate Professor of Modern Art History
Graduate Department of Art History
University of Toronto
Sidney Smith Hall, Room 6036
100 St. George St.
Toronto, ON M5S 3G3

Jongwoo Kim
Associate Professor of Art History and Theory, Carnegie Mellon University, School of Art
4341 Schenley Farms Terrace
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Julian Luxford
Professor of Art History, University of St Andrews
79 North Street
St Andrews, UK KY16 9AL

Temi Odumosu
Senior Lecturer in Cultural Studies, Malmö University
Bassänggatan 2
211 19 Malmö


%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close